click here for our registration to receive Borough resident communications.

Mayor & Council

Freehold Borough is governed by six council members and a mayor. Council members are elected for a three year term and the mayor is elected for a four year term. The governing body is empowered to adopt local ordinances and pass resolutions. The governing body conducts all of its business during monthly meetings open to the public.

Mayor J. Nolan Higgins

Dear Freehold Resident:

Welcome to Freehold Borough’s newly established web site. Information concerning your town is now only a click away. This web site provides essential information in a useful and easy format about the services your town provides. We have even included a few pictures of various landmarks that you will enjoy. Additionally, links have been provided to other important areas such as our Police Department, local newspapers, weather reports, schools, etc.

Take your time in navigating this site. If you still have questions concerning any issue or service, please feel free to call any of the telephone numbers listed in this directory.

Welcome to another new beginning in Freehold Borough!

Mayor J. Nolan Higgins

Left to Right:  Councilman Michael DiBenedetto, Councilwoman Annette Jordan, Councilman Kevin Kane, Mayor J. Nolan Higgins, Councilwoman Margaret Rogers, Councilwoman Sharon Shutzer, Councilman George Schnurr

51 West Main Street Freehold, NJ 07728

Contact Information
Please contact the Borough Clerk’s office at 732-462-1259
Fax: 732-409-1453

To send an e-mail to the governing body, please use the following addresses:

Mayor Nolan Higgins –
Term Expires 12/31/19

Councilwoman Sharon Shutzer –
Term Expires 12/31/21

Councilman Michael DiBenedetto –
Term Expires 12/31/20

Councilman George Schnurr –
Term Expires 12/31/20

Council President Kevin Kane –
Term Expires 12/31/19

Councilwoman Annette Jordan –
Term Expires 12/31/21

Councilwoman Margaret Rogers – 
Term Expires 12/31/19


Council Meetings, Agendas and Minutes
Regular Council Meetings are scheduled for 7: 00 pm. in Council chambers on the first Monday of the month.  The agenda is available for public inspection before each Council meeting. The minutes are available to the public following approval by Mayor and Council.